Frank Brimsek

 

Goaltender Frank Brimsek was an American playing in the NHL when the league was made up almost exclusively of Canadian-born players. The talented goaltender won the Vezina Trophy two times and earned the nickname "Mr. Zero". He enjoyed a stellar ten-year career during which he had a two-year break for military service in World War Two.

Frank Brimsek was only the second American-born and trained goalie to lead an NHL club to a Stanley Cup victory - the first being Mike Karakas (his hockey goalie predecessor and baseball teammate from high school times in his hometown Eleveth!) in 1937-38 with the Chicago Blackhawks. Brimsek would lead the Boston Bruins to the Stanley Cup twice in his career - in the 1938-39 and 1940-41 seasons.

 

Mr. Zero

Francis Charles Brimsek was born in Eveleth, Minnesota, on September 26th 1915. In this small town 100 miles away from Canada, the first ice hockey game had been played in 1903. The 3000-seat rink, built in 1922, was filled over its capacity for the games of the local amateur club during Frank's childhood. He started his hockey career playing in his hometown and later moved on to the Pittsburgh Yellowjackets of the EAHL (Eastern Amateur Hockey League) and later the Providence Reds of the IAHL (International American Hockey League, to become AHL).

The Boston Bruins were not the first NHL team to show an interest in Frank Brimsek. Originally the Detroit Red Wings claimed an interest in the goaltender. Their call was unexpected. In Eveleth, a community of five thousand inhabitants, people rarely worried about news outside of the tiny mining town. But after showing up for a Red Wings training camp he decided he wanted no part of the Detroit organization citing Jack Adams, the intimidating, dictatorial General Manager who "had a bad habit of favoritism", as the reason. Brimsek instead headed for Pittsburgh where his career started to flourish.

Once in the Steel City, Brimsek really started to show his ability as a goalie. In his second year with the Yellowjackets Brimsek posted eight shutouts in 38 games while winning the award given to the goaltender who allowed the fewest goals (George L. Davis Jr Trophy). His team in Providence won the league championship during his first season with the club while he posted superb numbers for the year. After several years of minor league hockey he was brought up by the Bruins to replace the legendary Cecil "Tiny" Thompson - himself now a Hockey Hall of Fame member. The Bruins fans were less than thrilled when Brimsek was announced as the starting goalie in his debut, but he quickly won the hearts of the Boston fans and the respect of his peers in the league.

Indeed Frank immediately paved his way to the Stanley Cup after embarking on two different shutout streaks. The first one lasted an incredible 231 minutes, 54 seconds. After that streak was broken he promptly started another shutout streak lasting 220 minutes, 24 seconds. The two streaks earned him the Mr. Zero nickname. He would lead the league twice in shutouts - recording an astounding 10 his rookie year.

An example for Americans

Brimsek greatly aided the development of the American game due to his success on the ice. During the era in which he played only a handful of Americans held down regular spots in the NHL. Ice hockey was slowly growing in popularity in the United States and the country was comprised of many good amateur leagues. His success led to the awareness of the talent becoming available in the United States. The Minnesota native forced the NHL executives to take longer looks at American-born players. The Chicago Blackhawks had a number of American-born players during the time Brimsek started his career in the NHL, but that was considered more of a publicity stunt (particularly among the Canadian executives) to draw American fans closer to the game. Frank Brimsek was the first American-born and trained player to dominate the league at a particular position and showed that Americans could indeed play the game and play it well. He was a superb goaltender in an era in which the NHL had a great many fine keepers. In 1939, after his rookie season, he won his first Vezina Trophy award as the league's best goalie (the other came in 1942) becoming the first American to win the award. It should be noted that prior to 1982 the Vezina Trophy was awarded to the goalie who had the lowest goals-against average for the season.

Brimsek played nine of his ten seasons for the Boston Bruins. During his first season in Boston he posted six shutouts in his first eight games! He also added the Calder Trophy as the league's top rookie player that season in addition to his Vezina Trophy and Stanley Cup victory.

In his rookie season Brimsek's stellar play helped lead the Bruins to victory in the Stanley Cup finals. The Bruins finished first in the league that year and were matched up against the New York Rangers in the semi-finals. The Rangers and the Bruins had no great like for each other and the series promised to be an exciting one despite the Boston club finishing sixteen points ahead of the Rangers during the regular season. The Rangers took the series to a full seven games. They battled back from being down three games to zero before the Bruins won game seven and a trip to the finals. Three of the games went into sudden death overtime and two of those went into a third overtime period. Mel Hill was the scoring hero for Boston scoring the three overtime winners while Frank Brimsek led the way in goal allowing only twelve goals against over the seven-game series. The Bruins then easily dispatched the Toronto Maple Leafs four games to one enabling the Boston club to earn their second Stanley Cup in franchise history. Brimsek only allowed six goals in the five games of the final series. For the playoffs he posted a goals-against average of 1.25 and picked up all eight of the Bruins playoff victories. He also posted one shutout in the finals. All that from a rookie goaltender that most people raised their eyebrows about at the beginning of the year!

A confident goalie with fast hands

Perhaps his finest season for Boston came in the 1941-42 season when Boston's famous "Kraut Line" of Milt Schmidt, Bobby Bauer, and Woody Dumart all enlisted in the Canadian Armed forces. The Bruins were expected to have a dismal season after losing their scoring aces, but Brimsek was credited for holding the team together and just about single-handedly led Boston to the playoffs. During that season he again led the league in goals-against average.

More than fifty years after playing his final game for the famous Boston club Frank Brimsek still ranks second all-time in Bruins history with 35 shutouts. Only Thompson, the man he replaced, with 70 has more. Brimsek posted 230 wins, 144 losses and 70 ties for Boston with his win total again second only to Thompson.

Frank Brimsek was a classic standup style goalie who used a custom made extra heavy weighted stick - which he would use on anyone taking too much interest around his cage! He was well-respected by his peers and Hap Day and Frank Selke asserted that Brimsek was the finest goalie during his era. Canadiens and NHL legend Maurice Richard called Brimsek one of the toughest goaltenders he ever faced. No less than the famed Art Ross - who was the Boston General Manager during that time - claimed that Brimsek had the fastest hands that he had ever seen. One night in practice Ross took slap shots at Frank from 10 feet away (3 meters) - Brimsek turned away 25 consecutive shots. Cecil Thompson had stopped only 19 of 25, and that's why the Bruins decided to trust the young goalie and to send Thompson to the Jack Adams' Red Wings. Brimsek was a very fierce competitor and hated giving up goals even during team practices. Though he was hypocondriac before the games he was extremely confident on the ice and often threw shooters off during breakaways or penalty shots by simply leaning against the goalie cage and giving the appearance that he wasn't fully into the game or not ready for the coming rush.

Career interrupted by military service

During his two years of military service Brimsek played one season with the Coast Guard Cutters who previously played games in the Eastern Amateur Hockey League, but went to a full exhibition schedule the year that he played with the squad. The Cutters, based in Curtis Bay, Maryland, were made up of some of the finest US minor league professionals and amateurs of the era and they were quite competitive. They played a physical, undisciplined brand of hockey and were accompanied by a band who played the Coast Guard marching song whenever they scored. They entertained the crowds, but other servicemen were fighting on the front, and people started to question why these players were able to play hockey while others fought in the war. The team was disbanded in 1944 after they won, for the second time, the National Senior Open Championship of the US Amateur Hockey Association. Brimsek's second year of service was on a supply ship in the Pacific Ocean.

Brimsek was fortunate to play on strong teams during his tenure in Boston. In his nine seasons with the Bruins they never missed the playoffs. Nevertheless, the Boston Garden crowd started to boo him at times during the 1948-49 season. Brimsek, who had faced the death of his one-year old son, experienced hard times, and when team manager Dit Clapper - a man he highly respected like he did with Art Ross - resigned he sent a telegram to the press to ask the Bruins to let him go too. He was sold to Chicago for cash, as the Blackhawks didn't want to trade a player. His last season in the NHL was the only time he did not lead a team he played on to the playoffs. Despite playing in and starting all seventy games for the Chicago Blackhawks in the 1949-50 season the lowly club missed the playoffs. After completing his lone season in Chicago he retired.

Frank Brimsek was elected to the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1966 - at the time he was only the fourth American-born player enshrined in the Hall. He was further honored by his election in the inaugural USA Hockey Hall of Fame class in 1973 - the USA Hockey Hall of fame is fittingly located in Brimsek's home town of Eveleth, a goalie hotbed where 1956 Olympic Games best goaltender Willard Ikola came from too. Each year the State of Minnesota further honors his legacy by awarding the "Frank Brimsek Trophy" to the top high school goaltender. Frank Brimsek died November 11th 1998 in his native Minnesota not far from where he grew up.

David Young

 

 

Statistics

                                           GP   W   T   L   Min   GA  Avg   SO
1935/36 Pittsburgh Yellowjackets   EHL     38  20   2  16  2280   74  1,95   8
                               (play-offs)  8   4   1   3   480   19  2,36   2
1936/37 Pittsburgh Yellowjackets   EHL     47  19   5  23  2820  142  3,02   3
1937/38 Providence Reds            AHL     48  25   7  16  2950   86  1,75   5
                               (play-offs)  7   5   0   2   515   16  1,86   0
        New Haven Eagles       (play-offs)  1   0   0   1    93    3  1,94   0
1938/39 Providence Reds            AHL      9   5   2   2   570   18  1,89   0
1938/39 Boston Bruins              NHL     43  33   1   9  2610   68  1,56  10
                               (play-offs) 12   8   0   4   863   18  1,25   1
1939/40 Boston Bruins              NHL     48  31   5  12  2950   98  1,99   6
                               (play-offs)  6   2   0   4   360   15  2,50   0
1940/41 Boston Bruins              NHL     48  27   8  13  3040  102  2,01   6
                               (play-offs) 11   8   0   3   678   23  2,04   1
1941/42 Boston Bruins              NHL     47  24   6  17  2930  115  2,35   3
                               (play-offs)  5   2   0   3   307   16  3,13   0
1942/43 Boston Bruins              NHL     50  24   9  17  3000  176  3,52   1
                               (play-offs)  9   4   0   5   560   33  3,54   0
1943-1945 military service (played with Coast Guard Cutters in 1943/44)
1945/46 Boston Bruins              NHL     34  16   4  14  2040  111  3,26   2
                               (play-offs) 10   5   0   5   651   29  2,67   0
1946/47 Boston Bruins              NHL     60  26  11  23  3600  175  2,92   3
                               (play-offs)  5   1   0   4   343   16  2,80   0
1947/48 Boston Bruins              NHL     60  23  13  24  3600  168  2,80   3
                               (play-offs)  5   1   0   4   317   20  3,79   0
1948/49 Boston Bruins              NHL     54  26   8  20  3240  147  2,72   1
                               (play-offs)  5   1   0   4   316   16  3,04   0
1949/50 Chicago Blackhawks         NHL     70  22  10  38  4200  244  3,49   5
NHL totals                                514 252  80 182 31210 1404  2,70  40
NHL playoff totals                         68  32   0  36  4395  186  2,54   2

 

Trophies

- Stanley Cup 1939 and 1941

- AHL champion 1938

Individual honours

- NHL best goaltender (Vezina trophy) 1939 and 1942

- NHL first all-star team 1939 and 1942

- NHL second all-star team 1940, 1941, 1943, 1946, 1947 and 1948

- NHL best rookie (Calder trophy) 1939

 

 

Back to the biographies' list

Frank Brimsek

 

Frank Brimsek était un Américain qui jouait en NHL alors que la ligue était presque exclusivement constituée de joueurs nés au Canada. Ce talentueux gardien a remporté deux fois le trophée Vezina après avoir rapidement gagné le surnom de "Mister Zero" grâce à ses séries de blanchissages. Il a connu une carrière cométaire de dix ans, interrompue par ses deux années de service militaire durant la seconde guerre mondiale.

Frank Brimsek est seulement le deuxième gardien né et formé aux États-Unis à avoir mené son équipe jusqu'à la victoire en Coupe Stanley - le premier étant Mike Karakas (qui était son prédécesseur comme gardien dans l'équipe de hockey de son lycée, dans sa ville natale Eleveth, et son coéquipier dans celle de baseball !) en 1937/38 avec les Chicago Blackhawks. Brimsek conduisit les Boston Bruins à deux Coupes Stanley, dans les saisons 1938/39 et 1940/41.

 

Mr. Zero

Francis Charles Brimsek est né le 26 septembre 1915 à Eleveth, au Minnesota. Dans cette petite ville située à cent soixante kilomètres du Canada, le premier match de hockey sur glace avait été joué dès 1903. La patinoire de trois mille places, construite en 1922, était remplie à ras bord pour les matches de l'équipe locale durant l'enfance de Frank. Celui-ci débuta sa carrière dans sa ville natale avant de rejoindre les Pittsburgh Yellowjackets de l'EAHL (Eastern Amateur Hockey League) puis les Providence Reds de l'IAHL (International American Hockey League, qui allait rapidement devenir l'actuelle AHL).

Les Boston Bruins n'étaient pas la première équipe de NHL à s'intéresser à Frank Brimsek. À l'origine, les Detroit Red Wings avaient manifesté leur intérêt pour le gardien. Leur appel arriva de façon impromptue. À Eleveth, petite communauté minière de cinq mille habitants, les gens s'intéressaient rarement à ce qui se passait en dehors de la ville. Mais après avoir passé un camp d'entraînement avec les Red Wings, Brimsek décida qu'il ne voulait pas rien avoir affaire avec Detroit, à cause de leur manager général, l'intimidant et dictatorial Jack Adams, qui avait pris selon lui "de mauvaises habitudes de favoritisme". Brimsek préféra partir pour Pittsburgh où sa carrière commença à s'épanouir.

Après avoir quitté les mines de fer d'Eleveth pour la capitale américaine de la sidérurgie, Brimsek put vraiment commencer à montrer ses talents de gardien. À sa seconde année avec les Yellowjackets, il réussit huit blanchissages en trente-huit rencontres et remporta le trophée alloué au gardien ayant la meilleure moyenne de buts encaissés (George L. Davis Jr Trophy). Son équipe suivante de Providence termina championne et il y obtint également d'excellentes statistiques. Après plusieurs années en ligue mineure, il fut appelé par les Bruins pour remplacer le légendaire Cecil "Tiny" Thompson - lui aussi devenu aujourd'hui un membre du Hall of Fame. Les supporters des Bruins étaient loin d'être enchantés lorsqu'il fut annoncé que le débutant Brimsek serait leur titulaire, mais il gagna rapidement les curs du public de Boston et le respect de ses collègues de la ligue.

Sa première saison fut en effet le théâtre de deux incroyables séries d'invincibilité. La première dura 231 minutes et 54 secondes. Peu après la fin de cette belle série, Frank en commença une autre, d'une durée à peine moins inférieure, de 220 minutes et 24 secondes. Ces deux séries lui valurent de gagner le surnom de Mr. Zero. Il termina avec un record de dix blanchissages la saison d'inauguration de sa carrière en NHL.

Un exemple pour les Américains

Brimsek a grandement aidé le développement du hockey américain par ses succès sur la glace. À l'époque où il jouait, seule une poignée d'Américains disposaient d'un poste régulier en NHL. Le hockey sur glace gagnait lentement en popularité aux États-Unis et le pays possédait beaucoup de bonnes ligues au niveau amateur. La réussite de Brimsek permit de prendre conscience du talent disponible dans ce pays. Le natif du Minnesota força les dirigeants de la NHL à regarder avec plus d'attention les joueurs américains. Les Chicago Blackhawks avaient un bon nombre de joueurs nés aux États-Unis à l'époque où Brimsek commença sa carrière, mais c'était plus considéré (particulièrement de la part des dirigeants canadiens) comme un truc publicitaire pour attirer les supporters américains à ce sport. Frank Brimsek fut le premier joueur né et formé aux États-Unis à dominer la ligue à sa position, et il montra que les Américains étaient effectivement capables de jouer au hockey - et de bien y jouer. Il fut un excellent gardien à une époque où la NHL avait beaucoup de bons spécialistes à ce poste. En 1939, pour sa première saison, il remporta son premier trophée Vezina du meilleur gardien de la ligue (le second arriverait en 1942), devenant le premier Américain à recevoir cette distinction. Il faut préciser que, jusqu'en 1982, le trophée Vezina était remis au gardien qui avait la meilleure moyenne de buts encaissés au cours de la saison régulière.

Brimsek joua neuf de ses dix saisons chez les Boston Bruins. Durant sa première saison, il obtint six blanchissages dans ses huit premières titularisations ! Il ajouta le trophée Calder du meilleur débutant au trophée Vezina et à la Coupe Stanley. Après avoir terminé premiers de la saison régulière, les Bruins affrontèrent les New York Rangers en demi-finale. Ces deux équipes avaient peu d'affection l'une pour l'autre et le duel s'annonçait excitant même si Boston avait terminé avec seize points d'avance sur les Rangers en saison régulière. Les New-Yorkais poussèrent la série jusqu'à un septième match après avoir perdu les trois premières manches, avant que les Bruins ne s'ouvrent la voie vers la finale dans ce match décisif. Trois manches allèrent jusqu'en prolongation, et deux d'entre elles ne furent décidées qu'à la troisième période de prolongation. Mel Hill fut le héros de Boston en marquant les trois buts vainqueurs en prolongation pendant que Frrank Brimsek assurait dans les cages en ne concédant que douze buts durant ces sept matches parfois à rallonge. Les Bruins se défirent ensuite facilement des Toronto Maple Leafs par quatre victoires à une pour s'adjuger la deuxième Coupe Stanley de l'histoire de la franchise. Brimsek ne laissa passer que six buts sur les cinq rencontres de la finale. Il termina les play-offs avec une moyenne de 1,25 buts encaissés, il fut l'artisan des huit victoires des Bruins, et il réussit un blanchissage en finale. Tout ça pour un gardien novice qui avait suscité nombre de haussements de sourcils au début de la saison !

Un gardien confiant aux mains rapides

Sa meilleure saison vint peut-être en 1941/42 quand la fameuse "Kraut Line" de Boston, composée de Milt Schmidt, Bobby Bauer et Woody Dumart, fut entièrement incorporée dans les forces armées canadiennes. On s'attendait à ce que les Bruins connaissent une saison noire après le départ de leurs vedettes offensives, mais Brimsek fut salué pour avoir réussi à maintenir la cohésion de l'équipe et il l'emmena en play-offs presqu'à lui seul. Il termina de nouveau cette saison avec la plus faible moyenne de buts encaissés.

Plus de cinquante ans après son dernier match à Boston, Frank Brimsek est toujours en deuxième position de tous les temps dans l'histoire du club avec ses 35 blanchissages. Seul Thompson, l'homme qu'il a remplacé, en a plus avec 70. Brimsek eut un bilan de 230 victoires, 70 nuls et 144 défaites avec Boston, son total de victoires n'étant là encore surpassé que par Thompson.

Frank Brimsek était un gardien au style classique - debout - qui utilisait une crosse lestée spécialement faite pour lui - qu'il utilisait contre quiconque s'approchait d'un peu trop près de sa cage ! Il était bien respecté par ses pairs, et Hap Day et Frank Selke assurèrent qu'il était le meilleur gardien de son époque. Le légendaire Maurice Richard expliqua que Brimsek était l'un des gardiens les plus difficiles à passer. Le fameux Art Ross - qui était le manager général de Boston à cette époque - affirma que Brimsek avait les mains les plus rapides qu'il ait jamais vues. Un soir à l'entraînement, Ross enchaîna des slapshots à trois mètres de distance - Brimsek détourna les 25 tirs consécutifs. Thomson n'en arrêta que 19 sur 25, et c'est pourquoi les Bruins décidèrent de faire confiance au jeune gardien et d'envoyer Thompson chez les Red Wings de Jack Adams. Brimsek était un compétiteur féroce et il détestait prendre des buts, même à l'entraînement. Bien qu'il soit hypocondriaque avant les rencontres, il était extrêmement confiant une fois sur la glace et souvent il piégeait les tireurs pendant les breakaways ou les tirs de pénalité en se reposant simplement contre sa cage en ayant l'air de ne pas être complètement dans le match ou pas prêt pour le rush à venir.

Carrière interrompue par le service militaire

Brimsek passa la première de ses deux années de service militaire à jouer avec les Coast Guards Cutters, qui avaient précédemment joué au sein de l'Eastern Amateur Hockey League, mais qui disputaient leur saison hors compétition avec des exhibitions lorsqu'il rejoignit l'équipe. Les Cutters, basés à Curtis Bay, au Maryland, étaient formés de quelques-uns des meilleurs amateurs et professionnels de ligues mineures américains de l'époque, et ils étaient assez compétitifs. Ils jouait un hockey physique et indiscipliné et étaient accompagnés par une fanfare qui entonnait l'hymne des garde-côtes à chaque fois qu'ils marquaient. Ils amusaient la galerie, mais d'autres conscrits se battaient sur le front, et les gens commencèrent à demander pourquoi ces joueurs étaient en train de jouer au hockey pendant que d'autres mouraient à la guerre. L'équipe fut dissoute en 1944 après avoir remporté, pour la seconde fois, le championnat national amateur américain. La seconde année de service de Brimsek se déroula sur un navire d'approvisionnement sur l'océan Pacifique.

Brimsek eut la chance de jouer dans des équipes fortes durant son séjour à Boston. Durant les neuf saisons qu'il passa avec eux, les Bruins ne manquèrent jamais les play-offs. Néanmoins, le public du Boston Garden se mit parfois à le siffler durant la saison 1948/49. Brimsek, qui venait de faire face à la mort de son fils d'un an, vivait alors des moments difficiles, et quand le manager de l'équipe Dit Clapper - un homme qu'il respectait grandement comme cela avait déjà été le cas avec Art Ross - démissionna, il envoya un télégramme au correspondant de la presse locale pour demander que les Bruins le laissent également partir. Il fut vendu à Chicago contre de l'argent, dans la mesure où les Blackhawks ne voulaient échanger aucun joueur. Sa dernière saison en NHL fut la seule où il ne conduisit pas son équipe jusqu'aux play-offs. Bien qu'il fut titulaire dans les soixante-dix rencontres jouées par les Chicago Blackhawks en 1949/50, ceux-ci ne parvinrent pas à se qualifier. Après cette unique saison à Chicago, il prit sa retraite.

Frank Brimsek fut élu dans le Temple de la Renommée du Hockey en 1966 - et à cette époque il n'était que le quatrième Américain à y être admis. Il fut de nouveau honoré en 1973 par son élection parmi les membres inauguraux du Hall of Fame américain - qui a justement été construit à Eleveth, la patrie de Brimsek, pépinière de gardiens d'où était également originaire Willard Ikola, meilleur gardien des Jeux Olympiques 1956. Chaque année, l'état du Minnesota honore également sa mémoire en remettant le "trophée Frank Brimsek" au meilleur gardien de lycée. Frank Brimsek est mort le 11 novembre 1998 dans son Minnesota natal, non loin de là où il a grandi.

David Young

 

 

Statistiques

                                           MJ   V   N   D   Min   BE   Moy   B
1935/36 Pittsburgh Yellowjackets   EHL     38  20   2  16  2280   74  1,95   8
                               (play-offs)  8   4   1   3   480   19  2,36   2
1936/37 Pittsburgh Yellowjackets   EHL     47  19   5  23  2820  142  3,02   3
1937/38 Providence Reds            AHL     48  25   7  16  2950   86  1,75   5
                               (play-offs)  7   5   0   2   515   16  1,86   0
        New Haven Eagles       (play-offs)  1   0   0   1    93    3  1,94   0
1938/39 Providence Reds            AHL      9   5   2   2   570   18  1,89   0
1938/39 Boston Bruins              NHL     43  33   1   9  2610   68  1,56  10
                               (play-offs) 12   8   0   4   863   18  1,25   1
1939/40 Boston Bruins              NHL     48  31   5  12  2950   98  1,99   6
                               (play-offs)  6   2   0   4   360   15  2,50   0
1940/41 Boston Bruins              NHL     48  27   8  13  3040  102  2,01   6
                               (play-offs) 11   8   0   3   678   23  2,04   1
1941/42 Boston Bruins              NHL     47  24   6  17  2930  115  2,35   3
                               (play-offs)  5   2   0   3   307   16  3,13   0
1942/43 Boston Bruins              NHL     50  24   9  17  3000  176  3,52   1
                               (play-offs)  9   4   0   5   560   33  3,54   0
1943-1945 military service (played with Coast Guard Cutters in 1943/44)
1945/46 Boston Bruins              NHL     34  16   4  14  2040  111  3,26   2
                               (play-offs) 10   5   0   5   651   29  2,67   0
1946/47 Boston Bruins              NHL     60  26  11  23  3600  175  2,92   3
                               (play-offs)  5   1   0   4   343   16  2,80   0
1947/48 Boston Bruins              NHL     60  23  13  24  3600  168  2,80   3
                               (play-offs)  5   1   0   4   317   20  3,79   0
1948/49 Boston Bruins              NHL     54  26   8  20  3240  147  2,72   1
                               (play-offs)  5   1   0   4   316   16  3,04   0
1949/50 Chicago Blackhawks         NHL     70  22  10  38  4200  244  3,49   5
Totaux NHL                                514 252  80 182 31210 1404  2,70  40
Totaux play-offs NHL                       68  32   0  36  4395  186  2,54   2

 

Palmarès

- Coupe Stanley 1939 et 1941

- Champion d'AHL 1938

Honneurs individuels

- Meilleur gardien de NHL (trophée Vezina) 1939 et 1942

- Membre de la première équipe-type de NHL 1939 et 1942

- Membre de la seconde équipe-type de NHL 1940, 1941, 1943, 1946, 1947 et 1948

- Trophée Calder de meilleur rookie NHL 1939

 

 

Retour à la liste des biographies